11 ways to recognize perfect Master- SARMAD

Saint Sarmad was the disciple of a perfect Master, But how is a perfect Master to be rocognised? Perfect Masters have themselves made the point clear in their own literature. There are outward as well as inward signs which leaves no room for error.

perfect spiritual MASTER


1. A perfect Master lives like an ordinary citizen.

2. He wears no special clothes, ochre-colored robes, flowing mantles or habits, to distinguish him from the people among who he lives.

3. He puts on no caste-mark, doesnot apply sandalwood paste to his forehead, or ashes to his body.

4. He leads a family life and does not hide himself in jungles, mountains and caves.

5. He earns his own livelihood. Among Indian Saints Tukaram was a grocer, Namdev a tailor, Ravidas a shoe maker, Gora Kumbhar a potter, Sawta Mali a gardener, Narhari a goldsmith, Supach a tanner, Kabir a Weaver, Guru Nanak a farmer, Maharaj Jaimal Singh JI a Soldier, Maharaj Sawan Singh Ji a military Engineer, Sardar Bahadur a professor of chemistry, Maharaj Charan Singh ji a lawyer and a farmer.

6. He doesnot accept for his own use any gifts or any charity from anyone, not even from his disciples, and anyone who does receive gifts or charity is not a perfect Master. He comes here as a Giver not receiver.

7. Perfect Master give little or no importance to temples, mosques and churches, pilgrimages to holy cities, bathing in holy rivers, visits to shrines or durgahs. They count no beads; and imaginary pictures showing rosaries around their necks or in their hands are products of ignorance and are gross misrepresentations.

8. Perfect Masters are not interested in founding religions or organising sects or cults. The establishment of these after their death is the result of the ignorance narrow-mindedness, greed and lust for position and power of people who claim to be their follower. And they do so only after the Masters themselves have passed away.

9. Perfect Masters promise no worldly wealth or successes. They give no charms and amulets or other means for worldly success.

10. Perfect Masters are perfect themselves and make their disciples perfect.

11. Perfect Masters re vegetarian and against the use of all intoxicating drugs and drinks.

Masters are always present in the World

According to Buddhist tradition, many Buddhas and Bodhisattva are said to have come to this World at different times to help the people of their time to realize their spiritual goals. If only one Buddha or Bodhisattva could have helped all the human being seeking enlightenment through the ages, there would have no reason for a second Buddha or Bodhisattva to come to this World. We know that patients of today cannot receive treatment from past physicians, however proficient they may have been.

True Spiritual Teachers

Likewise the spiritual seekers of different times can obtain help and guidance only from the Buddha or Bodhisattva of their own time.

People always need practical training in the discipline and active guidance in their spiritual practice. All this necessitates a continuous chain of living teacher and disciples.  As Patrul Rinpoche says:

Every meditation practice and training for the mind is passed on from teacher to student, and then internalized till it becomes an integral part of that’s person personal experience. A truly qualified spiritual teacher must have actually attained realization, this lineage has been passed on unbroken, from one realized teacher to the next, until the present day.

Buddhism clearly indicates that the spiritual path or Dharma is not the invention or the creation of a particular Buddha. The Dharma is ancient and eternal. Gautam Buddha only discovered it and then taught it to others so that, by following it, they also could realize what he himself had realized. Many Buddha came before him and many will come in the future.

Buddhism Monks

Thus the spiritual path of Dharma not dependent on any particular Master, and no master claims to create or reinvent a new path or Dharma. The Buddha clearly says:

I have, monks, seen an ancient path, an ancient way traveled by Enlightened Ones of former times.